The Longest Night Of Charlie Noon by Christopher Edge

Repro_TheLongNightOfCharlieNoon_cvr.indd

Cover illustration by Matt Saunders

Trying to review this book without giving away any spoilers is as complicated as the mystery Charlie, Dizzy and Johnny find themselves trapped in – thanks Christopher – but I will do my very best…

Charlie has moved to the country and isn’t all that happy about it. London had friends, but this tiny village only has Dizzy. The two children head to the woods to crack the codes that could have been left there by a spy. But is that the only thing that lurks in the woods? Johnny has told them all about Old Crony who lives in the woods feeding on lost children, but that’s just a silly story, isn’t it?

When Johnny plays a trick on them, Charlie and Dizzy head home, but night falls fast and there doesn’t appear to be anyway out of the nightmare they find themselves in. Will they ever see the edge of the woods and the light of dawn again? The biggest mystery to crack without Scouting For Boys is time itself…

With plot twists I just didn’t see coming, Christopher Edge has created a compelling, conundrum of a read packed with codes, cries for help & calls for friendship. The spellbinding story is packed with suspense, surprises and shocks which meant I lost all track of time as the pages seemed to turn themselves.

As all sense of time warps in the woods, you feel the emotional turmoil Charlie, Dizzy and Johnny go through as they attempt to crack the codes and cyphers they stumble across in the dark as night goes on and on and on. The ending had me in tears in the way only a beautifully written book can.

What I loved most about this book though is the biggest spoiler of all. I can’t even tell you the book it instantly took me back to as a child in Year 6 myself, as that will give it away… Read it for yourself, it is so worth it, I promise.

If only I could turn back time and read it all over again! You can have a peak inside at Nosy Crow.

Great for fans of Seaglass, Our Castle By The Sea and The 1000 Year Old Boy.

Huge thanks to Nosy Crow for sending me a copy for review; I suspect it will be a long while before I see Charlie back on my bookcase.

One thought on “The Longest Night Of Charlie Noon by Christopher Edge

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s