The 1000 Year Old Boy by Ross Welford

Publication Date: 11 January 2018

996B8985-BCB4-4E83-BBA1-16B56636B324

Cover illustration by Tom Clohosy Cole

Alfie wants to be like any other 11 year old, which is a bit tricky when he’s actually over a thousand years old. He longs for a friend, but knows the only way he and his mother can stay where they are is to keep themselves to themselves.

When Roxy and Aidan come crashing into their lives, and a fire destroys their home, Alfie knows the time has come to live a different life. But, there is only one way to do that, and for all his years on earth, time is now running out.

Bittersweet, heartwarming and life affirming, Ross Welford has created a wonderful story celebrating friendship, trust and hope, while blending modern living with history. Told from two different perspectives, Alfie and Aidan’s stories are woven together seamlessly and it’s clear to see how the three main characters use their different strengths to cement their friendship and support each other.

Thank you Ross for yet another thoughtful, compelling, moving read – that made me both laugh and cry – especially the moment in the story when the cinema in my head started playing Queen, Who Wants To Live Forever.

Great for fans of Armstrong & Charlie, The Ethan I Was Before and Fishboy.

If you haven’t read Ross Welford’s other books, they are well worth it too:

Many thanks to HarperCollins and ReadingZone for sending me a copy for review.

2 thoughts on “The 1000 Year Old Boy by Ross Welford

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s