The Light Jar by Lisa Thompson

Having loved The Goldfish Boy, I couldn’t wait to The Light Jar – I knew I was in for an emotional read, I had tissues at the ready, and boy oh boy did I need them!

B5240321-7727-4A2A-8AAA-1C2F96FC6CD8

Cover illustration by Mike Lowery

Nate hates the dark. When he’s woken up in the middle of the night to go on holiday, he packs his torch, favourite book, teddy and his Ask Me A Question Magic Ball. Only when he watches his mum in the car, does he realise things aren’t quite right, and when they arrive at their ‘holiday cottage’ he knows they aren’t. They are running and must stay hidden, at least for a little while.

When Nate’s mum goes out to get food and doesn’t return, he has to survive on his own, face his fears and work out what to do for the best, without revealing who he is or why he’s at the cottage to anyone, at least until his mum comes back…

Sam and Kitty, Nate’s mysterious companions, help him face the tumultuous emotions Lisa Thompson explores so delicately about domestic abuse and the effects on it’s victims.* Every interaction is utterly believable, and the raw emotions Nate experiences reverberated in my soul as I read.

Powerful, gut-wrenchingly sad, yet full of hope and heart, The Light Jar is a hauntingly beautiful mystery, involving  a very difficult subject, which Lisa Thompson handles with her trademark sensitivity, warmth and hope. A truly remarkable read!

Great for fans of The Imaginary and There May Be A Castle.

*Living in a house where domestic abuse is taking place is soul destroying, and as a child, you may feel utterly powerless to stop it. If you’ve been affected by the issues in this story, and need help or someone to talk to, it’s always available from:
http://thehideout.org.uk/
https://www.womensaid.org.uk/
https://www.childline.org.uk/

 

 

8 thoughts on “The Light Jar by Lisa Thompson

  1. Daniella says:

    I really enjoyed Lisa’s debut The Goldfish Boy, so I’m excited to read this one. This is a great review! Thanks for the warning about it being emotional, I’ll brace myself 🙂

    Daniella x

    Like

  2. Mariyah says:

    This book was amazing!
    I have recently been reading it and its amazing!!
    Do you like books or reading blogs?
    Well there’s a cromer road blog which I help to write!
    Please check it out and comment on a blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s