You Can’t Make Me Go To Witch School by Em Lynas, illustrated by Jamie Littler

68402908-95DA-42B8-93BD-E899F167BC0F
It’s Daisy Wart’s 11th Birthday, and instead of Granny taking her for a birthday treat, she’s stood outside a crumbling building. Granny is convinced she’s a witch, but Daisy is adamant she isn’t. For Daisy is a Shakespearean actress, preparing to show the world her Bottom just two nights hence. With the headmistress ignoring her, Daisy is enrolled into Witch School where she will stay until her 18th birthday. Daisy must find a way to escape if she is ever to win her Oscar.

A fabulously funny, fast-paced read, packed with quirky characters and one-liners. Daisy and her new school friends all have unique voices, and their individuality shines through. Jamie Littler’s illustrations capture the budding actress in all her glory, bringing Em Lynas’s hilarious new heroine, and surroundings to life. This is a book that begs to be read aloud! I can’t wait for more from Toadspit Towers, but while I wait, I’m off to get my own cauldron bed.

Great for fans of St Grizzles, Witch Wars and Clarice Bean.

Huge thanks to Munchkin Meggie for my copy. I’m sure the children at my school will love it as much as we both do.

 

4 thoughts on “You Can’t Make Me Go To Witch School by Em Lynas, illustrated by Jamie Littler

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s