Make Me Awesome by Ben Davis, illustrated by Mike Lowery

I am delighted to be taking part in the Make Me Awesome Blog Tour. Ben Davis has very kindly answered questions put to him by my After School Book Club, which you should read in An Interview With… Ben Davis.

00B84F00-5409-4E44-91A9-DFD99443FB78

When Freddie’s Dad loses his job, the Smallhouse family hit tough times, and have to move in with Uncle Barry. When he announces that he has a job in Germany and will be selling his home, Freddie knows he has to do something. With the help of awesome life coach, Chuck Willard, he sets out to save himself and his parents from living in a B&B. Can the Make Me Awesome programme help Freddie to be as awesome as Chuck and turn his family’s fortunes around?

A hilariously, heartwarming story about the power of self-belief and friendship, Make Me Awesome highlights the issues surrounding poverty and mental health, and their impact on families. Freddie turns desperation into determination and will have you crying with laughter as he embarks on various schemes to be awesome. I loved that the school library was at the heart of this story as a place for everyone to go, meet up with friends, old and new, try out new things and have fun.

Great for fans of Dougal Daley, Saving Granny Maggot, Giant and Beaky Malone.

The After School Book Club Review…

This book is awesome! It’s really funny even though it’s about a sad subject. I think the most important message I took away from Make Me Awesome is that I don’t need an expensive life coach, I just need good friends and it’s really important we help each other. Everyone should read this book. Did I say it was awesome? It’s more than awesome – it’s MAWESOME!

About the author…

B57F20AB-6FDC-4FF4-ABBB-0D4AA1289B0FBen Davis studied English at University, which was quite easy because he was already fluent in that. As well as writing books, Ben Davis has had a variety of jobs, including joke writer, library assistant, and postman. Writing books has proven the most fun.

About the illustrator…

2C62CDFE-F76B-4F16-8A2B-33AEA27B9DA7Mike Lowery, creator of the Doodle Adventures® series and The Kid’s Awesome Activity Calendar, is an illustrator whose work appears in everything from greeting cards to children’s books. He lives with his wife and daughter in Atlanta, Georgia.

Huge thanks to Hannah and Kirsty at Oxford University Press for inviting me to be part of the Make Me Awesome Blog Tour. It’s been awesome! Do check out the other stops on the tour.

IMG_20180106_132026

 

3 thoughts on “Make Me Awesome by Ben Davis, illustrated by Mike Lowery

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s