Warrior Boy by Virginia Clay

6DFF4F32-65A5-4AEF-B671-CA40D388703B

Cover illustration by Kerry Hyndman

The Blurb…

London schoolboy Ben is heading for Kenya to meet his Maasai  family. But how is an outsider like him going to fit in?

When he meets his cousin Kip, he discovers they share more than he thought – if only Ben can keep up . . .

Together, the boys must survive the African savannah: hunt for food, defend elephants from poachers – and even face the king of the beasts. Does Ben have what it takes to be a twenty-first-century warrior?

The Review…

A thrilling, heartfelt adventure set in the heart of the African savannah. With characters that grow throughout the story and descriptions that transport you to the sun scorched world of the Maasai, it easy to understand how I very nearly missed my train stop, and had to get back to this evocatively written read as quickly as possible.

Warrior Boy takes us not only on a journey to one of the most breathtaking places on the planet, immersing us in Maasai culture, but also on Ben’s personal journey of self-discovery, where we see him face fears far beyond his blood phobia.

The biggest fear for Ben is whether he will fit in with a family he has never met, from a culture he has never experienced. I loved the exploration of Ben’s heritage and how it affects his view of himself.

With themes of conservation of both elephants and Maasai culture, self-belief and belonging, it’s a fantastic read for Year 4 up.

Great for fans of When The Mountains Roared and Gorilla Dawn.

WARRIOR BOY by Virginia Clay out now in paperback (£6.99, Chicken House)

You can find out more about Warrior Boy, and read the first chapter at Chicken House Books. 

Huge thanks to Laura and Chicken House Books for inviting me to take part in the blog tour. Do make sure you check out Virginia’s guest post; Where Do Ideas Come From?, and make sure you don’t miss the other stops.

8AEF6785-EA11-4889-802A-2FA48F0131B1

One thought on “Warrior Boy by Virginia Clay

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s