Storm Witch by Ellen Renner

3D1DD831-BE0B-4CC6-832A-13A6BAB2B04C

With The Choosing looming, Storm knows her destiny is about to be revealed. Which of the four Elementals will claim her as her own, determining her future in Yanlin? Last to undertake the Choosing, Storm visits the shrines where her fear of not being chosen by any of the Elementals is replaced by a much bigger one, for she has had a great gift bestowed on her. Can she accept it and harness it’s power to save her people, or will she turn her back on it and betray everything she holds dear?

Beautifully written, emotionally intelligent and with a powerful, pacey plot, that twists and turns like a tornado, Storm Witch is a spellbinding fantasy that draws you into the world of Yanlin and entwines you with it’s characters.

With each turn of the page, I felt my feet plant themselves more firmly on the streets leading to the harbour, smelt the salty tang of the sea and heard the hustle and bustle of the town as Yanlin’s people went about their lives.

Storm is a great character; her emotions are real, understandable and make her easy to relate to. Mixi, as her enemy, is very easy to dislike, yet feel sympathy for. I adored Teanu for her quiet strength, her kindness and compassion, and her steely command of any situation. She reminded me so much of my Nan!

Nim provides the most complex character – hero or villain, friend or foe? It is through his eyes that The Drowned Ones, seen as savage pirates by the people of Yanlin, are given a different narrative. This provides huge food for thought and would be a great discussion topic in class, resonating deeply with issues in our world around displaced people and refugees.

I can’t wait to see what happens next in this powerful series; with three more books, there’s a lot of thought-provoking adventure still to come.

Great for fans of Mold And The Poision Plot, Sky Song, Phoenix and The Apprentice Witch.

If you fancy a peek at the first chapter, head over to Nosy Crow. And, do make sure you read Ellen’s fabulous guest post, Blood, Sweat and Tyres by Ellen Renner.

Huge thanks to ReadingZone and Nosy Crow for sending me a copy for review. Do make sure you check out the other fabulous books recommended by teachers and librarians.

One thought on “Storm Witch by Ellen Renner

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s