Will You Catch Me? By Jane Elson

59C23395-891B-4D80-B552-660BFCE1D2D2

Cover illustration by Michelle Rockford

Nell is the only naturalist on the Beckham Estate, which means she shares her bedroom with her menagerie of rescued animals that she cares for. They provide a distraction from having to care for her mum too, and offer normality and rhythm in her otherwise chaotic life.

When a new history teacher arrives at school, he plants the seeds from which Nell’s plans to bring order to her life grow. With the help of best friend, Michael, she sets out to find her Dad, a man she knows nothing about. But will she succeed?

Jane Elson has taken a very difficult subject, and spun it into a heartbreakingly beautiful and poignant story, full of family, friendship, community and broken promises.

Nell is by turns bold, brave, broken and rebuilt as we get a glimpse into the life of a child living with an alcoholic. Her ability to grab onto hope with both hands and look for good in the world around her, both present and past, while trying to escape the day to day realities of her life, is endearing and inspiring.

The historical links to Nell Gwyn are woven seamlessly into the plot and the landscape, providing Nell Hobs with comfort and courage. With painful insights into how Nell hides her home life from school and friends, there is as much to learn from Will You Catch Me? as there is to enjoy.

Take a peak at the first few chapters here.

Great for fans of Cathy Cassidy, Jo Cotterill and Lara Williamson.

About The Author…

48FCAE5E-95B0-4187-8C2C-087965DA3D13

After performing as an actress and comedy improviser for many years, Jane fell into writing stories and plays. A Room Full of Chocolate was her first book for children and won Peters’ Book of the Year and the Leeds Book Award as well as being longlisted for the Branford Boase and nominated for the Carnegie Medal. When she is not writing Jane spends her time running creative writing and comedy improvisation workshops for children with special educational needs. She is also a guest practitioner at Soho Theatre’s Writer’s Lab.

You can find out more about Jane and her books at aroomfullofwords.com.

Do make sure you read Jane Elson’s guest post, “Research and Responsibility: Getting it right in Will You Catch Me?” discussing ..

Huge thanks to Fritha for asking me to take part in the Children Of Alcoholics week Blog Tour, and to Ha Children’s Books for sending me a review copy. And, do make sure you check out the other stops on the tour.

A71A426E-F93C-4FCC-B3BA-3768EF34CEAD

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s