The Boy Who Hit Play by Chloe Daykin

Publication Date: 5 July 2018

697C7E55-D94A-4AFB-8F2B-297C5E16478C

It’s Elvis’s 12th Birthday, and as he blows out the candles on his cake, it’s time to ask the question: “Why?”

Why was he left on a bench at the zoo 12 years ago, and who left him there? With the only clues to where he came from being the Norwegian newspaper he was wrapped in, he turns to George, his now dad, and Lloyd, ever present friend of George for help. As they follow the clues, a shadow man dogs their every move, and the closer they get to Elvis finding the truth, the more dangerous the shadow becomes. Every answer leads to more questions. Will Elvis find the answers he’s looking for?

“Why… ?” and “What if… ?” have never been more vividly brought to life in an extraordinary tale of self-discovery dogged by set-backs, shadows & secrets. Stunning scenery, captivating characters and a journey to the truth are combined to create a riveting, emotional rollercoaster of a read.

Elvis is determined to discover who he is, and his mixed emotions throughout the journey shine through Chloe’s writing, as do the conflicting emotions of George, a dad desperate to help his son while keeping him safe. Lloyd is full of mischief which covers the secrets he appears to be hiding as they journey further north into the snow covered mountains and storm swept islands.

Great for fans of Just Call Me Spaghetti Hoop Boy, The Guggenheim Mystery and See You In The Cosmos.

Huge thanks to Hannah at Faber & Faber for sending me a proof of this stunning book. Can’t wait to get my hands on a finished copy.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s