The Girl Who Thought Her Mother Was A Mermaid by Tania Unsworth

1EE178A4-5DCF-4819-95A3-C9C3D8F9A6B5

I really wasn’t sure what to expect from this book, but between the captivating cover by Helen Crawford-White, and the enticing opening, I couldn’t wait to dive straight in…

“The first time Stella Martin ran away, it was in her sleep. The second was by accident. But the third time she did it on purpose, to find out whether she was human or not.”

Stella lived as far from the ocean as was possible with her Dad and Gramma. With no friends to speak of she spent her days cocooned in the school library exploring the world beneath the waves, a world that both fascinated her and filled her with fear.

The arrival of new girl, Cam, changes everything. She finally has a friend, someone to talk to and share her thoughts with.

When Cam’s family move to a new town by the sea, Stella grabs the opportunity to steal away and discover the truth of who she is once and for all. But the run-down aquarium in Crystal Cove holds secrets far more dangerous than she could ever have imagined…

A deceptively dark mystery that weaves family secrets and fairytale magic into a gripping read. Stella’s journey of self-discovery is both uplifting and heartbreaking, with the different threads of family, friendship, memories discovered and seeping away sewn together to create a mystery that is by turns bright and bleak, but always captivating.

The use of fantasy to help explore Stella’s sense of loss and grief, at both her mother’s death and her Gramma’s dementia, show how important stories and imagination are for children when dealing with emotional traumas of any kind.

Great for fans of A Girl Called Owl, The Boy Who Hit Play, and The Mystery Of The Colour Thief.

Huge thanks to Fritha Lindqvist and Head Of Zeus for sending me a copy for review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s