Spylark by Danny Rurlander

D2D4F1E4-8E7C-41BC-93BB-964F0566D8C9

The Blurb

Ever since the accident, Tom’s struggled with his mobility. But he has a secret escape: Skylark, his drone – through this technology, he can fly above his Lake District home, exploring his world from a totally different perspective. But when he stumbles upon a terrorist plot, he knows no one will believe him. Maggie and Joel, a sister and brother on holiday in his aunt’s cottage, are the only ones who can help … but can they stop the plot in time?

The Review

Swallows and Amazons is given a spy thriller update in this fast-paced, action packed adventure, that starts on the very first page and doesn’t let up until the very last.

From the moment we meet Tom, we are drawn into his new world, a world he is struggling to come to terms with and desperate to escape. His unwillingness to spend time with Maggie and Joel comes from his inability to do what he would have in the past, but as the story progresses, he comes to realise that he needs them, not just to help him, but as friends.

I loved the use of the drone to expand Tom’s world, and allow him to share the sheer beauty of his home in the Lake District with us, from the lakes and islands, to the quarry and castle. The bird’s eye perspective from Skylark allows Tom, Maggie and Joel to become immersed in the plot they uncover, and keep an eye on the local bullies.

My technical knowledge isn’t great, but Danny’s descriptions of the gadgets Tom creates bring them to life and they are all realistic and achievable. What I wouldn’t give for his lawnmower!

Great for fans of Below Zero, The Inventory: Iron Fist And Stormbreaker.

About The Author

4E0CE08A-2ACF-40F1-853E-131C8E1E4986

Danny Rurlander is a UK based children’s author whose novel, Spylark, was shortlisted for the Times / Chicken House Prize 2017.

After studying English Literature at the University of East Anglia, Danny worked in the finance sector for several years, and now serves on the staff team of a multi-cultural, city-centre church. This gives him the joy of working with a fantastic team of people as they seek to share the greatest story ever told with people of all ages, backgrounds and stages of life.

While at University Danny spent two years learning to fly with the RAF, as an officer cadet in the Cambridge University Air Squadron.  He has lived in Austria, Kenya, Devon and Australia, but always longed to return to his native Lake District where he grew up exploring the fells and camping on islands, and where his first novel, Spylark, is set.

Danny is married to Emma and they have four children.

In his spare time Danny enjoys running, exploring wide open spaces with a 1:25,000 scale Ordnance Survey map… and of course writing his next action-adventure novel for 8-12 year olds!

Huge thanks to Laura and Chicken House for inviting me to take part in the Spylark Blog Tour. Do make sure you check out Danny’s guest post, Flying, and all of the other stops on the tour.

2B15D9C2-CB91-4D53-A659-48C438039FE6

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s